Sheville

Get Free Email Updates!

Get progressive community news & events.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Call the NC General Assembly! “Please support this non-partisan effort when the bill is introduced in 2019”

Call the NC General Assembly!

Sample call script:

“Hello.  My name is _____ and I’m a voter in Western North Carolina. I am calling you to urge your support for North Carolina’s ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment.

This is important because:

  • The #MeToo movement reminds us that women need equal rights in the workplace.                               
  • The only constitutional right women have is the right to vote. Other rights and protections                                                          are not granted to women as they are to men in the Constitution.
  • Laws that we thought would protect women are not consistently enforced. (Click here for examples of cases)

Please support this non-partisan effort when the bill is introduced in 2019. Thank you!

Senator Andy Wells

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 42 
AlexanderCatawba

 
 

(919) 733-5876

Andy.Wells@ncleg.net

Senator Terry Van Duyn

Democratic Whip

2017-2018 Session

Democrat – District 49 
Buncombe

 
 

(919) 715-3001

Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net

Senator David L. Curtis

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 44 
GastonIredellLincoln

 
 

(919) 715-3038

David.Curtis@ncleg.net

Senator Jim Davis

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 50 
CherokeeClayGrahamHaywood

JacksonMaconSwain

 
 

(919) 733-5875

Jim.Davis@ncleg.net

Senator Deanna Ballard

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 45 
AlleghanyAsheAveryCaldwellWatauga

 
 

(919) 733-5742

Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net

Representative Josh Dobson

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 85 
AveryMcDowellMitchell

 
 

919-733-5862

Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net

Senator Kathy Harrington

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 43 
Gaston

 
 

(919) 733-5734

Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net

Representative Hugh Blackwell

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 86 
Burke

 
 

919-733-5805

Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net

Senator Warren Daniel

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 46 
BurkeCleveland

 
 

(919) 715-7823

Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net

Representative Destin Hall

Majority Freshman Leader

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 87 
Caldwell

 
 

919-733-5931

Destin.Hall@ncleg.net

Senator Ralph Hise

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 47 
MadisonMcDowellMitchellPolk

RutherfordYancey

 
 

(919) 733-3460

Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net

Representative Mitchell S. Setzer

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 89 
Catawba

 
 

919-733-4948

Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net

 

 

Senator Chuck Edwards

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 48 
BuncombeHendersonTransylvania

 
 

919-733-5745

Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.net

Representative Jay Adams

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 96 
Catawba

 
 

919-733-5988

Jay.Adams@ncleg.net

Representative Jason Saine

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 97 
Lincoln

 
 

919-733-5782

Jason.Saine@ncleg.net

Representative Cody Henson

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 113 
HendersonPolkTransylvania

 
 

919-715-4466

Cody.Henson@ncleg.net

Representative John A. Torbett

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 108 
Gaston

 
 

919-733-5868

John.Torbett@ncleg.net

Representative Susan C. Fisher

2017-2018 Session

Democrat – District 114 
Buncombe

 
 

919-715-2013

Susan.Fisher@ncleg.net

Representative Dana Bumgardner

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 109 
Gaston

 
 

919-733-5809

Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net

Representative John Ager

2017-2018 Session

Democrat – District 115 
Buncombe

 
 

919-733-5746

John.Ager@ncleg.net

Representative Kelly E. Hastings

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 110 
ClevelandGaston

 
 

919-715-2002

Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net

Representative Brian Turner

2017-2018 Session

Democrat – District 116 
Buncombe

 
 

919-715-3012

Brian.Turner@ncleg.net

Representative Tim Moore

Speaker

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 111 
Cleveland

 
 

919-733-3451

Tim.Moore@ncleg.net

 

Representative Chuck McGrady

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 117 
Henderson

 
 

919-733-5956

Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net

Representative David Rogers

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 112 
BurkeRutherford

 
 

919-733-5749

David.Rogers@ncleg.net

Representative Michele D. Presnell

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 118 
HaywoodMadisonYancey

 
 

919-733-5732

Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net

 

Representative Mike Clampitt

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 119 
HaywoodJacksonSwain

 
 

919-715-3005

Mike.Clampitt@ncleg.net

Representative Kevin Corbin

2017-2018 Session

Republican – District 120 
CherokeeClayGrahamMacon

 
 

919-733-5859

Kevin.Corbin@ncleg.net

 

Tags: , , , ,

SheVille Team

We are a one-of-a-kind magazine that provides local, regional, national and international information about women’s lives and education, performing and visual arts and writing, the environment, green living and sustainability and regional Western North Carolina business, people and events. “Villages preserve culture: dress, food and dance are a few examples. As villages grow in population and turn into towns, local cafes make way for large American chains. Handmade leather sandals are discarded for a pair of Western sneakers. Due to its small size, a village fosters a tight-knit sense of community. Justpeace.org explains the meaning of the African proverb, “It takes a village,” by stating that a sense of community is critical to maintaining a healthy society. Village members hold a wealth of information regarding their heritage: they know about the ancient traditions, methods of production and the resources of the land. When villages become dispersed or exterminated in times of war, this anthropological knowledge disappears. Large cities are not as conducive to growing and producing foods such as fruits and vegetables. Villages, on the other hand, usually have ample amounts of land and other resources necessary for growing conditions.” The Importance of Villages by Catherine Capozzi Our Mission SheVille.org provides readers with information important to women’s lives and well-being. We focus primarily on the areas of education & health, business & finance, the arts & the environment. We are particularly interested in local & regional resources, organizations & events.
Asheville, NC Current Weather
63°
scattered clouds
humidity: 77%
wind: 9mph N
H 65 • L 63
54°
Sun
58°
Mon
61°
Tue
Weather from OpenWeatherMap

Subscribe to Articles