Sheville


Get Free Email Updates!

Get the latest progressive community news & events delivered straight to your inbox.

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

REMINDER: The EQUAL RIGHTS AMENDMENT for Women has STILL NOT PASSED! Forward this link to everyone ASAP

There is nothing in the Constitution of the United States that protects U.S. women from discrimination. Ironically, we have insisted that other countries, such as Afghanistan, include such a provision!  Equal Means Equal 

The Equal Rights Amendment will guarantee equal status under the law and provide bedrock legal protection when women or men face sex discrimination. Protection would cover:

  • Lack of equal pay for equal work
  • Pregnancy discrimination
  • Violence against women
  • Other forms of sex discrimination

The 14 states that have not ratified the Equal Rights Amendment are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri,  North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, and Virginia.

These are widespread, but those facing sex discrimination don’t have effective legal relief. State laws are not uniform and federal laws are not comprehensive. These laws can be, and often have been, weakened or repealed be a single vote.

The solution? PUT THE ERA INTO THE U.S. CONSTITUTION. To date, the ONLY RIGHT WOMEN HAVE IS THE RIGHT TO VOTE.

Urge your representatives to support the ERA bills, and follow the progress of the bills in the NC General Assembly online:

​1) The House Rules Committee
Simply copy all the following addresses together and paste into your Email program…

David.Lewis@ncleg.net, Ted.Davis@ncleg.net, Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net, John.Szoka@ncleg.net, John.Torbett@ncleg.net, John.Bell@ncleg.net, John.Blust@ncleg.net,
Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net, Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net, Justin.Burr@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net, Andy.Dulin@ncleg.net, Beverly.Earle@ncleg.net, Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, John.Fraley@ncleg.net, Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net, Edward.Hanes@ncleg.net, Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net, Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net, Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net, Linda.Johnson@ncleg.net, Susan.Martin@ncleg.net, Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net
 Robert.Reives@ncleg.net, Jason.Saine@ncleg.net, Shelly.Willingham@ncleg.net
Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

​The message:
· I urge the Rules Committee to hold a hearing on the the Equal Rights Amendment (H.102).
· I urge you to support and vote for the ERA to ensure equal rights for women and men.

2) The Senate Rules Committee
Simply copy all the following addresses and paste into your Email program…

Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net, Dan.Blue@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net, Harry.Brown@ncleg.net, Ben.Clark@ncleg.net
 Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net, Joel.Ford@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net
 Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Michael.Lee@ncleg.net,
Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net, Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net, Louis.Pate@ncleg.net, Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net, Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net, Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net

​The message:

· I urge the Rules Committee to hold a hearing on the Equal Rights Amendment (S.85). 
 · I urge you to support and vote for the ERA to ensure equal rights for women and men.

The ERA-NC Alliance is pursuing support for ratification of the ERA among counties and municipalities across the state. Currently Durham and Orange Counties, and the municipalities of Durham, Winston-Salem, Duck, Nags Head, Kitty Hawk, Manteo, and Kill Devil Hills have adopted resolutions supporting ratification of the ERA.

Durham, NC – On Tuesday, February 14th, bills supporting North Carolina’s ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment were introduced in both houses of the North Carolina General Assembly.  Senator Floyd McKissick, Jr., introduced SB 85 and Representative Carla Cunningham introduced HB 102. Both bills have multiple co-sponsors. A video of the full news conference ERA-NC Alliance held is at the end of this post.

“In my opinion, it is absolutely absurd that we have not already passed the Equal Rights Amendment,” said Senator McKissick, “since it is obvious to me that women should be viewed equal to men in the eyes of the law.” McKissick already anticipates likely arguments against the ERA will claim an adverse affect on business, but he says, “so be it! If that’s the criteria they use for evaluation, I guess they would never have abolished slavery, either.”

ERA NC ALLIANCE

Tags: , , ,

Comments (3)

  • Avatar

    Roberta Madden

    |

    Good news! The City of Asheville has adopted a resolution in support of the ERA. Thanks to Ann Brock and others who worked to accomplish this on behalf of the ERA-NC Alliance.

    Reply

  • Avatar

    Ann Von Brock

    |

    I don’t think we can stress enough the urgency to include women in the US Constitution! We will never be viewed or treated equally until the ERA is ratified by 38 states (two more are needed) and then adopted by Congress. Legislators don’t believe citizens care about the ERA and claim they never hear from voters. Help us change that by following Roberta’s request and contacting members of the NC General Assembly Rules Committees.

    Reply

  • Avatar

    Roberta Madden

    |

    Thank you for helping spread the word about what must be done to move the ERA through the legislative process. If enough people take action, these committees will hold hearings on the ERA legislation. It’s an uphill climb, but we will PERSIST!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Asheville, NC Current Weather
64°
clear sky
humidity: 77%
wind: 7mph N
H 64 • L 64
74°
Mon
68°
Tue
73°
Wed
Weather from OpenWeatherMap

Subscribe to Articles