Get Free Email Updates!

Get progressive community news & events.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Adobe Moon600

WYATT EARP AN AMERICAN ODYSSEY, An Historical Literary Fiction Trilogy on the Life of Wyatt Earp by Mark Warren

“Think you don’t like to read Westerns? Adobe Moon will change your mind.” ~ Allison Marlowe, Gulf Coast News Today.

Western historian Mark Warren’s award winning trilogy Wyatt Earp, An American Odyssey transports the reader back to the 19th century West.

“…Warren is able to convey scenes with a cinematic clarity…” ~ Peta Stevalli on Born to the Badge, New Zealand Booklovers

This trilogy represents the culmination of more than 60 years of research. Warren says: “I have written it as close to the truth as I know how. And as usual, the truth is so much more compelling than the myth. Welcome to the real story.”

“Woven with clarity and colorful prose, Warren leads readers on an odyssey to 1879 Tombstone where we feel the desert dust and hear spurs jangling… An accomplished researcher, Warren is ever-faithful to the facts…” ~ Denise McAllister on Promised Land, Roundup Magazine and True West Magazine.

The Books:

Adobe MoonIt is 1862. With his older brothers fighting in the war, young Wyatt is left to manage the family’s Iowa farm under his father’s iron rule. These years of labor produce in him an ambition to seek his fortunes by his wits rather than by the sweat of his back. The open territory to the west, he knows, offers that opportunity.

After westering to California he meets a beguiling Mexican girl, who tells him of the “adobe moon,” a rusty-hued orb that reminds a man: If you do not achieve your dreams, you must settle for what you have. Wyatt rejects this idea, but it haunts him nevertheless, as he tries his hand at coach driving, freight hauling, and railroad work. When he becomes a constable in a small Missouri town, marries, and loses both wife and child to disease, he sinks into a depression where the line of ethics blur. Having temporarily lost his ambitions, he strikes back at the world as a bouncer in a string of Illinois brothels.

Fed up with his self-made squalor, he returns to the West for a second chance at a proper life, and in a Kansas cattle town he comes face to face with his salvation…and his destiny as a lawman with his own iron rule.


Born to the Badge(2019 Spur Award Finalist) In Wichita, Kansas, Wyatt Earp answers his most innate calling and returns to law enforcement, where he excels by sheer force and an utter lack of fear. When town leaders become disenchanted with his hardline methods, he moves to a place where an iron-rule is needed – Dodge City, the new cattle shipping center of the country.

As assistant marshal in Dodge, Wyatt stands at the center of a volatile arena, which pits the mayhem of celebratory, Texas cowboys against the economic security of the merchants. Wyatt’s performance as a proficient officer earns him respect among the citizens, but it does not provide the social standing he desires.

In Texas he meets a man whose name will be forever linked with his own. Doc Holliday is a testy, Southern ex-dentist-turned-gambler, who is dying from tuberculosis. By giving Wyatt information about the train robbers, Doc offers the first thread in an unlikely friendship that will weave the two men’s lives into a common story that will be told through the ages.


Promised Land Front

Promised Land – (2020 Finalist for the Will Rogers Medallion Award, and an Editor’s Choice by the Historical Novel Society) In Tombstone, Arizona Territory, despite a silver strike promising entrepreneurial opportunities, Wyatt Earp returns to law enforcement, posing a new threat to the rustlers, stage robbers, and murderers running rampant on both sides of the U.S.-Mexican border. The Earp brothers make as many enemies as they do allies in a deeply divided community…but here Wyatt also meets the women with whom he will spend the rest of his life.

Aspiring to be county sheriff, Wyatt bargains with outlaw informants in his pursuit of three wanted men. When the deal unravels, the cowboy traitors fear retribution from their own, planting the seed for the thirty seconds that will ensure Wyatt Earp his place in history–the gunfight that erupts behind the O.K. Corral.

What follows–assassination and swift justice–guarantees that Wyatt Earp’s name will forever be measured within the debate of law versus order.




About the Author – Mark Warren is a graduate of the University of Georgia with a degree in Chemistry/Pre-med. At Medicine Bow, his school in the Southern Appalachians, he teaches nature classes and survival skills of the Cherokees. The National Wildlife Federation named him Georgia’s Conservation Educator of the Year in 1980. Mark has written extensively about nature and primitive survival for magazines, including: Guernica, Blue Ridge Highlander, North Georgia Journal, Camping, Paddle, Survivor’s Edge, and Georgia Backroads. His published books include: Two Winters in a Tipi (Lyons Press, 2012), a memoir, Secrets of the Forest (Lyon’s Press, 2020), a 4-volume series on nature/survival, Wyatt Earp: An American Odyssey, a historical novel trilogy on the life of Wyatt Earp consisting of Adobe Moon, Born to the Badge and Promised Land.

Mr. Warren’s books are available everywhere books are sold.

Check out all of Mark Warren’s books at

SheVille Team

We are a one-of-a-kind magazine that provides local, regional, national and international information about women’s lives and education, performing and visual arts and writing, the environment, green living and sustainability and regional Western North Carolina business, people and events.

Subscribe to Articles